Make your own free website on
Time Zones: United States
The "lower 48" U.S. states and Washington, D.C. are divided into 4 time zones: Eastern, Central, Mountain, and Pacific. The time in each zone is one hour earlier than in the zone to its east and one hour later than in the zone to its west. The basic pattern of time zones in states is given below. An asterisk indicates the state falls into two time zones.
Eastern, 12N Central, 11 A.M. Mountain, 10 A.M. Pacific, 9 A.M.
Connecticut Alabama Arizona California
Delaware Arkansas Colorado Idaho*
District of Columbia Florida* Idaho* Nevada
Florida* Illinois Kansas* Oregon*
Georgia Indiana* Montana Washington
Indiana* Iowa Nebraska*
Kentucky* Kansas* New Mexico
Maine Kentucky* North Dakota*
Maryland Louisiana Oregon*
Massachusetts Michigan* South Dakota*
Michigan* Minnesota Texas*
New Hampshire Mississippi Utah
New Jersey Missouri Wyoming
New York Nebraska*
North Carolina North Dakota*
Ohio Oklahoma
Pennsylvania South Dakota*
Rhode Island Tennessee*
South Carolina Texas*
Tennessee* Wisconsin
West Virginia